Her Big Day Approaches

December 5th is barreling toward us and we’re so very excited and filled with every emotion under the sun. We’ve dreamed, planned, then re-planned and exhausted every version of the original plan. Still, she smiles and counts the days until she becomes Mrs. Nease. Planning a wedding during a pandemic is like chasing a moving target and not for the faint of heart. Even in the midst of my most knee-buckling aggravations, she takes it in stride, perhaps quietly sad, but knows in the end, they will walk off into the sunset together. Ultimately, they’ve understood the end game and kept it all in perspective, more-so than myself perhaps.

We’ve been extra blessed to have her home to dream and plan with her daily. Having the sisters close by and in the thick of it with her has made it even more special. I hope they one day look back and cherish this special time they’ve had together. SB and Kee have loved standing beside their big sister and have done their best to support, prop, hug, cry, and laugh along with her. Adam and Brittany have offered council and a shoulder when needed and I know will always be only a call away if she needs them.There are days I simply give thanks to God they have each other.

Bridesmaid dresses are chosen. The cake, band, flowers, venues, music, and every other known decision has been made. The bachelorette weekend was a huge success and all that she could have hoped for. Parties are underway and friends are showing up for her in ways we couldn’t have imagined. For our quiet little princess, the spotlight has been more welcoming than I think she imagined it would be.

We are in the final weeks and feeling incredibly mixed emotions. We’re excited and joy-filled and yet, I could be physically ill at any given moment. While there’s no doubt, she will forever and always be my heart and never far away, I also know life will change drastically for us. She’s been home and working for the last year, it will be lonely without her. Without her quiet talks, a glass of wine between us, discussing the day, I will miss her. We’ve laughed about me getting up early and making her breakfast and packing her lunch each day. I knew we were on limited time when she came back home last year. It’s been my joy to have another opportunity to do something for her, to wash her clothes, and say good morning as the sun rises each day. I will miss her. Many nights coming home from work and opening the door, she’s cooked dinner and the house is alive with her love and spirit. Her laughter, her smile, her hugs, her smell…I will miss her.

But…I have learned to appreciate every season of our life and this will be no different. After a few tears, I will adjust and look forward to our time together, whenever and how ever often it comes. It’s as it should be and truly I thank God every day for sending Colin to our Anne-Marie. They are precious together and she literally glows when she’s with him. How blessed is she…how blessed are we?

One thought on “Her Big Day Approaches

  1. Ella November 8, 2020 / 7:29 am

    Beautiful and blessed beyond words.

Leave a comment