Suburban Faith Talks

For the last 16 years, many “life-discussions” have happened while driving down the road. From the oldest to the youngest, this has been true.
Our oldest child stunned me more than once with comments and questions from the backseat – even from his booster seat. Announcing, at five, that he knew the “f” word almost sent me in to the ditch. “Really, son…well……………there are words that you will learn that simply aren’t to be repeated (gripping tightly to the steering wheel). Yes, mommy – it’s a very bad word – but can I just say it one time…I promise I won’t EVER say it again. Okay – tell me the word and then we’ll open the car windows and let it fly away – never to be repeated again (holding even tighter to the steering wheel and daring NOT to look in to the rearview mirror at his little face as he spoke this dispicable word). OK mommy, the…word…is….FART. Quick mommy – open the windows!
πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Yes, my sweet – we’ll certainly open these windows….get out of our car you nasty word!! Whew!

Ok so that was about 16 years ago and I’ve learned to brace myself when one of the children starts to seriously discuss something on their minds.

Last week, a different discussion began with the youngest. No idea why this was on her mind…and honestly, I’m not sure I helped her. We may have to visit this topic again, when she’s ready.

Again from the backseat of my Suburban, she asked me why we, as Christians, “are trying so hard to get to heaven? Why doesn’t Jesus just come back here and then we can all stay with our families and then no one has to be sad when someone dies.” You know, I’ve never thought of it that way. We began to discuss how perfect heaven will be – no sadness, no hurt, no sickness…only glory with God. Nope – not deterring this one. “Okay, mommy but I’m not thinking of how I will feel when I’m in heaven…I’m thinking about how sad everyone will be here.” Hmmmm, sniff, sniff…we’ll keep trying to work on this…

Our Suburban Faith Talks don’t get any easier after 16+ years.

Leave a Reply

