“40 Somethingish”

It’s official – I’m “40 Something”. I can remember thinking that the “forties” were really old people. My parents were old, in my eyes, in their thirties. Yikes!

The “birthday” was yesterday and it was an incredible day – before 7:00am, the day was already made. About 4:30 am, I heard footsteps down the hall, movement in the kitchen, and soon…the wonderful smell of coffee and sausage. My instructions from the night before were to stay in bed a bit longer and to wake up hungry. When I was allowed in to the kitchen, wow what a spread! Adam and AM had been busy making a new breakfast casserole. Adam came up with the recipe and I hope he will repeat it soon. AM had made me a huge, orange sign with lovingly, cut letters of yellow, blue, and purple. “HAPPY B-DAY MOM”. AM also had created me a slide show on the computer that I enjoyed while drinking my fresh cup of coffee. The two little people soon came down and greeted me with hugs and special gifts of their own creation. Keegan had painted a portrait of me on canvas – beautiful. And then, my Bess brought me a painted planter that I will use for pens. She then pulled out folded, rumpled, rough-edge piece of paper. Unable to contain herself, Keegan announced that Bess had written me a song. My eyes filled with tears before she ever started. Her voice brings me to tears every time she sings, but this was different. She started working on this song in January and says that she changed it now and then along the way. The words are below:

You, you’re the one I want to be like.
You’re the one I look up to.
You’re the one that I love.
You’re the one I’d do anything for.

Like climb to the top of a mountain
or cross the sea
I would do it all for you
wait and see.

But if there were three words
I could say to you,
they would be I love you.

Don’t even worry about me.
Take care of yourself.
I love you so much more than anybody else.

What I like to see is your smile.
When I see it, I could run a mile.
That just kinda means that you
encourage me to do these things….

Like climb to the top of a mountain
I would cross the sea.
I would do it all for you
wait and see.

But if there were three words
I could say to your
they would be I love you.

Yes, I dooooooooo

I love you.

Bessie 5/13/10

Enough said – the day was perfect!

One thought on ““40 Somethingish”

Leave a Reply

