And what were you doing?

What were you doing the summer of 2003? I’ve looked back at pictures of my youngest child who was 2 at the time. My oldest was going to high school…we went to the beach…lots of swimming…family time…Auburn beat Alabama, Space Shuttle Columbia exploded, record high gas prices $1.72.
While we were enjoying our lives here in a free nation, many, many Americans were far away serving in a war that seems to go on without end. Last week, Chad’s uncle and a fellow Marine came to dinner after spending the day in the woods hunting. Somehow, the dinner conversation turned to their time, in 2003, serving as active Marines. Between the two men, they served our country for 40+ years. Most recently, they both had been to Afghanistan and Iraq. We listened for about 2 hours as both men relived their time with other men they call brothers. We listened as they replayed unbelievable conditions, and unbelievable camaraderie in the worst of situations. They were both very clear that they were honored to have served their country and that given their youth …they’d do it again. I don’t understand or can I relate to their patriotic spirit. I almost wish I could but…not really. It’s horrible what our young men and women are going through to keep us safe and to try and change thousands of years of unrest in countries that really don’t want us there! Yes, selfish and very American like…I think they should all come home.
Before Christmas, a very dear friend of ours was deployed to Afghanistan. It is only now that I’ve taken an active interest in our war effort. I hate the idea that he’s away from his wife and children. It actually makes me mad that he had to miss Christmas with his family. His wife had to decorate, shop, read Christmas stories…all by herself – as did all of the families of our military heroes. Now, the day to day meals together, school projects, hugs, laughter, EVERYTHING – they miss! And you know…they are all steadfast that this is something that he has to do – it’s his job….it’s important that we have servants/heroes to look out for those that can’t. He has an attitude to beat the band. I can see him smiling as he sends out emails that “life is good”. I’m proud to know this American family! Their attitude is one that I could and should learn from….but I still want all of our heroes HOME!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

