Another chapter ends.

For the past five years, I’ve had a great group of young people to teach, play and love at our church.  When I began working at our church, these children were in the first grade. Tonight was their final night with me at church. They will confirm this Sunday and move over to our youth group. I’m so very proud of these children. They laugh and love life like no other class I’ve known yet. As their final night, “on the green grass” was coming to a close, they chose Red Rover and Duck, Duck Goose as the last games they would play. I just love these kids. We’ve spent countless hours on trips to a swamp, the beach (over and over again), White Water, summer camps, hide-and-seek in the church, playground time, Wacky Wednesday, shaving cream fights, water balloon wars, popcorn and movies, too many crafts to mention, VBS, Bible skills & drills, Sunday School hours…and hours….and hours. The list could go on and on. I know that I will love the next class of children, I always do. But, every so many years, there is a special class that touches your heart – I will miss them and all their antics. Our side of the street (children’s) will not be the same without them. I wish them well. I wish them many, many blessings. I will hold them dear to my heart always.

2 thoughts on “Another chapter ends.

  1. sweet post…it is hard….no matter who the children are when they move on. I am struggling once again with graduation. It always makes me so sad to let them go….but let them go I must…but they must reach their full potential. I have done all I can do for them.

Leave a Reply

