Triathlon Weekend – and “the boys”

We all enjoyed this past weekend, even though it has taken me three days to get it all back together. On Friday the two youngest princesses and I headed to our once-a-year required meeting with our homeschool umbrella group. Each year the director asks that we all come together, briefly, to sign up for tests, theater productions, etc. It’s fine, I guess. I don’t mind going so much – I just wish it wasn’t 1.5 hours away. But, on the flip side, we have family in that area and the girls always enjoy playing with the cousins. As it turned out, they stayed with the family while dear hubby and the oldest princess and I went north for an end-of-season traithlon.

Before the triathlon recap, I have to give kudos to my sister-in-law. You know, there are people that border on either being “Saints” or being “insane”. She was one of my inspirations to homeschool and I respect her so very much – and she’s also one that I can laugh at and with depending on our lives at any given point. When we arrived at her house Friday, we were greeted by my nieces and nephew, as always, with huge grins and lots of chatter. And then…and then…the rest of the family comes barreling to see us – Butters and Ajax! Oh my, my, my…these little (NOT!) characters are the reason S-I-L has the latest jewel in her crown. Ajax is her puppy and Butters belongs to another S-I-L (which happens to be a vet and loves ALL animals). Now Ajax is a cross between a lab and…well, something else. He does this neat trick with his ears – he holds one up and one down. We’re not sure what he’s communicating when he does this – we think maybe he’s trying to understand us as he tilts his head from side to side – questioning (all the while with that ear standing straight up in the air). He’s super friendly – I mean, super, super friendly. So friendly, in fact, that he likes to get up close, and personal. He’s a rather large dog that lives IN the house. Now, we have a dog in our house, only she’s 4 pounds and Ajax is well on his way to 50+ pounds (could be exaggeration there but…). So, then there’s Butters. Oh our little French Bulldog Butters (that was born in Russia, traveled tothe SIL in Japan, and then to the US when she returned from the military) was also there with his stocky little legs, stubby tail, and the face only a mother could love. Some find his snorting cute – I just find it amusingingly distracting. The “boys” as the S-I-L calls them have a big time chasing each other, wrestling, sliding, etc through her kitchen and entryway. Now to the SIL’s credit, she has contained these “boys” to just this area and has her baby gates back up (her children are well past needing gates) so that she has her “dog free zone”.  The dog antics were quite funny to me and captured my attention for some time. Her jewel comes from babysitting Butters when she has three children that she homeschools, and as she calls him…her special needs dog, Ajax.

Oh – out of time again – triathlon recap still to come.

Leave a Reply

