Outside My Window…
the sun is breaking through the trees and the birds are busy chatting. It’s about 70 degrees. This comfortable temp won’t last long. The forecast is for 94 degrees today. Whew – summer in the south – and it’s barely June.
I am thinking…
that my day will be short – too short for what all I need to get done today. Summer days are fun but we tend to overplan and stuff more than we should in a days time. Today will be one of those days.
I am thankful for…
hugs from my children and morning faces.
From the kitchen…
nothing – the air conditioning is out – I’m not cooking.
I am wearing…
comfy shorts, tshirt, flip-flops.
I am creating…
lesson plans for the summer.
I am going…
to swim team, writing camp, dentist, church 
I am reading…
Celebration of Discipline – The Path to Spiritual Growth by Richard Foster.
I read this book each morning during my quiet time. Interestingly, the last chapter was on the discipline of Solitude. I struggle with this discipline. My life is so busy. When I do find myself alone, in a quiet place, I tend to wring my hands – not sure what to do. Generally, I turn on a radio to listen to news, talk radio, etc. This is one of the very examples in the book of individuals that are not comfortable being alone with their thoughts….
I am hoping…
to keep my thoughts and prayers centered today on our Lord
I am hearing…
the morning news and fans whirring to circulate the cool morning air.
Around the house…
we have grass! We planted grass a week or so ago and the baby blades are peeking through. We’re very excited. We’ve had bare spots on the hill for years.
One of my favorite things…
the spontaneous love from a child. Our youngest daughter just burst with love for others. She almost pops if she can’t grab a neck and squeeze and plant a big ole’ kiss on the cheek. So sweet. I hope she’ll always be so demonstrative.
A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week:
Continuing quest for simplicity, learning to be content alone.
Here is picture thought I am sharing…
Leave a Reply

