I REALLY love to cook…

I promised my oldest daughter that I’d cook something special for her Mexican day at school. She said all of the other children were just bringing chips and salsa. No problem – I’ll work up something extra special. After asking a few friends for suggestions, we decided on simple chicken enchiladas. So, off to school she went this morning knowing I’d bring in the dish later. I have had the best time this morning puttering around in my kitchen putting it all together. I really love to cook! I always have. I wish I loved yard work as much…. hmmmmm, not likely.  🙂

The little people are coming home from the beach today!! Can’t wait to see them, hug them, kiss them, listen to their silly stories….I’ve missed those little monkeys! I had plans to have accomplished much more than I have while they’ve been gone. Their rooms were top on my list but ultimately kept falling to the bottom. Now, neither of their two rooms have been touched. I generally don’t venture up the stairs to their rooms and so, I don’t have to look if I choose not to. Terrible – just terrible. We must change out winter clothes for summer clothes and purge all that doesn’t fit.

The chicken enchilada recipe:

1 8oz. pkg of softened cream cheese

1 small container of sour cream

1 large jar of medium or hot salsa (I used mild.)

4 chicken breasts

10-12 corn or flour tortillas (I used flour – we don’t like the corn tortillas.)

1 package taco cheese (I grated cheddar.)

Season chicken breasts to taste and grill or brown in frying pan. Cut cream cheese or spoon into bowl. Cut chicken into bite sized pieces and add to the cream cheese. Stir until melted, then stir in 1/2 of the jar of salsa. Warm tortillas in microwave until softened. Add a heaping tablespoon of chicken imix to tortilla and roll up. Place seam side down in a greased 9 x 13 pan. After all chicken is used, mix sour cream and the rest of the salsa together in a separate bowl. Spread over the enchiladas. Cover the cheese and bake until cheese is melted and golden brown.

Serves 4 – 6 people

Leave a Reply

