Week Disappears – To Digital Scrap or not?

As much as I love the early morning hours before the children arise, the past few mornings have been frantic. I’m not sure why this week has been so crazy but I am certainly unsettled with it.ย  We’ve had eye appointments for the children and husband, one child put on crutches, my Suburban dies in the parking lot of the church, soccer practice, dance practice, and campfire – AND IT’S ONLY WEDNESDAY!! One would think that someone takes my calendar and fills it all in for me – not! I do this occasionally – just pack too much in to a few days. It makes me grumpy.

I have been reading other’s blogs lately and have a new interest in digital scrapbooking. The idea of taking all of my digital pictures and producing something with them appeals to me. Is the process – create a digital page, save it, and send it to a publishing company, and they in turn print your creation and send it back? The printing seems to cost around $12 per page. This sounds pretty expensive to me although I can’t say I’ve priced how much it would cost to print the pictures and then scrapbook. More than likely the cost effective way for me to do this is to print the pictures and put them in photo albums like I always have. I’m terrified of losing my digital pictures or never having my children sit and look at them.

4 thoughts on “Week Disappears – To Digital Scrap or not?

  1. Oh no, where did you hear it costs $12 a page to print digital pages?? I upload mine to Costco and get 12×12’s for $3 a page! There are several online printers you can use also, in several different countries/continents, depending on where you are. What software do you have? Getting started really isn’t that hard. Just get (or use) a good program (Adobe Photoshop Elements is great to start with), and spend some time at a digital scrapbooking website, following tutorials. Scrapbook-Bytes.com is GREAT and has a lot of tutorials on how to do so many things. They also offer freebies to download, as does DigiFree, the digital scrapbooking freebies search engine! Their site address is http://digifree.blogspot.com/

    Your pictures won’t be seen if you leave them hiding on your computer! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Enjoy!!

  2. Another thing: If you want to really jump in whole hog, so to speak….
    Saturday (day after tomorrow) is National Scrapbook Day. All of the online sites will have crops and challenges and tutorials and lots and LOTS of freebies! ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s on my calendar, and my family knows I’ll be on the computer all day. I have half a mind to take my putter to Starbucks and enjoy their super duper high speed internet, and scrapbook there! lol

    Glad I could help!

  3. I upload to Costco 2.99 for a 12X12 page. I recently used Scrapbookpictures.com and 12X12 pages were 2.49. You can have these sent right to your house, so no need to have them printed nearby.

  4. Thank you for the post. It have raised a question worthy pondering indeed. You wrote you were terrified of losing your digital pictures or never having your children sit and look at them. As I read that, I reminded my mother. She has no computer at all, but her worry sound alike.
    What looks nice on our screens have no longevity meanwhile the most of our shots were made for to stop a time- for to report the unchangeable values that remind the world the miracles of the light that will illuminate the rapidly forthcoming sunset.

Leave a Reply

